Send Your Inquiry Today

What is a 4 Pole Double Throw Switch

A 4 Pole Double Throw Switch (4PDT) is an electrical switch that enables the user to control four different circuits, and direct the current to one of two locations for each circuit. It has twelve terminals in total; four poles, each with three associated contacts: a common (C), normally closed (NC), and normally open (NO). In the default position, each pole’s common contact is connected to its normally closed contact. When the switch is actuated, these connections are broken and the common contacts are connected to the normally open contacts instead. This allows for complex switching configurations and is often used in applications where it is necessary to redirect signals or power between two different paths for multiple circuits simultaneously.

4 Pole Double Throw Switch

Update cookies preferences
Scroll to Top